There's a place for art



Dustin Penner

Dustin Penner

Marker on bristol board.

The story behind this picture goes back a few weeks, when the University of Maine fired hockey coach Tim Whitehead. Having been drawing famous faces for the past several weeks before then as a result of being inspired by a couple of caricaturists I found online, it occurred to me I hadn’t yet done any former Black Bears, and one of them should probably be my next face. I had recently heard for the first time that Dustin Penner was a former Black Bear, so I looked up his profile at Hockey Reference, and not only was he, I just missed being a classmate of his (granted, I most likely would not have had any classes with him… )

As much as I would like to upload more pictures of hockey players through the NHL playoffs, this one took a while for me to get right, and I don’t know how much more I could do. Then again, now that I have found a technique which works for me, it may take a lot less time per drawing.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Foogos says:

    Needs more pancakes!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
    • I knew someone was going to say that.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 4 months ago
      • * Foogos says:

        I’m here all week!

        Posted 4 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

